top of page

How To: Take Monster Photos


Throughout this blog, I've posted a pawful amount of Bumi pictures. He looks so well behaved and perfect in them, but don't let the photos fool you. He actually is a monster, I promise. I figured I would switch things up today and do a how to post so that you can also fool others into thinking your monster is well behaved.

The Secret

All it really comes down to is your secret weapon... a treat! I know for Bumi, if he sees a treat, he immediately transforms from monster to perfect angel. He'll immediately sit and stare with great attention to the treat. His tail might wag a bit even while sitting. It is that moment when I feel like I've truly tamed a beast. I recently saw an advertisement for a phone case called the Pooch Selfie. It's a super neat case that holds a ball above the camera on your phone so your pup is focused on the camera. The modern age is neat. I prefer to use the much, much older technique of using my hand to hold the treat. I just can't keep up these days.

Method

1. Grab your a couple of your pup's favorite snack and call 'em over. I use Milk Bones because they are healthy and Bumi loves them.

2. Tell your pup to sit and stay, keeping the snack in his or her sight at all times.

3. Hold the treat next your phone/camera and start snapping away.

4. If you really want some neat pictures, grab some props and play around a bit!

5. Make sure to give them the treats when you're all finished so they are reward for being such a good pups

Tips and Tricks

TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES. Seriously. IThis is a great rule for photography in general, but I can almost guarantee you won't take that perfect photo on your first try. I never would've been able to capture my romantic date night with Bumi if I hadn't taken so many shots. Bumi's tail is constantly wagging and it takes at least 5 shots for me to capture it not moving. Besides, it's always nice to have options. One photo your pup's tongue might be hanging side ways, slobbering all over the place and the next his or her mouth will be closed shut.

DON'T USE FLASH. First, you don't want to blind your dog Red eye is the worst and trying to make your monster not look like a monster, red eye won't help. Try taking pictures in places with good natural lighting for the best light to showcase your beautiful pups.

TRY DIFFERENT ANGLES. Odds are, if you have a treat in your hand, your dog's head will follow. Get low to their level. Bring the camera to their nose and take close ups. Try a directly overhead shot. Try a selfie as if your pup was taking it. Get creative!

Here's a few shots showing some pictures of Bumi not paying attention to the camera and or moving, just to show it's not as easy as it looks!

Alright guys, have fun taking pictures with and of your pups! Bumi and I would love to see them so leave a bark in the comment of your monster photo or hashtag #goldmonsterselfie on Instagram so we can see!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page