top of page

National Pet (Monster) Day

National Pet Day is coming up and to celebrate almost two years with Bumi, I decided it would be great to have a date night (and day) together. National Pet Day was created to spread the awareness of adopting instead of shopping for pets. I think National Pet Day also represents a day humans and all animals can join together and love. It doesn't matter if you love cats, dogs, bunnies, snakes, or turtles. The important thing is that you have a friend to love and loves you back unconditionally. It's always great to show appreciation and take important care of that non-human roommate, but National Pet Day is a day for some extra loving.

Date Day

Originally, Bumi and I were planning to go on a super rad and adventurous hike up at Mt. Charleston, but it has been raining cats and dogs here. After discussing it together, Bumi and I decided that we would rather just stay indoors to, as the kids say, "Netflix and Chill." There is nothing better than a relaxing day of movies while soft sound of rain hits the window.

The monster and I made some unseasoned popcorn (which is safe for dogs to eat), grabbed some blankets, and hopped on the couch for some movies and cuddling. We scrolled through Netflix's endless option of movies and eventually ended with Super Buddies. If I ran a movie review blog, I would rate this an 11/10. The movie had amazing cast of super powered puppies and I was extremely impressed at how well these dogs spoke Human... I wish Bumi could do that. If you and your pup need a movie to watch on Netflix, Super Buddies is a MUST. I will admit, Bumi and I were knocked out snoring by the end of movie, but it was because we were so comfortable and the sound of rain is so peaceful!

Date Night

After Netflix and Chillin' together, Bumi and I decided it was time for dinner. It was date night, so Bumi and I figured it would be nice to get dressed up and create a nice ambiance downstairs. LOOK HOW CUTE BUMI IS IN A TIE! And how nice the date looked. This would be the perfect set up for a Valentine's date with a gal... but I had a romantic date with my dog. I set the table, lit the candles, and obviously Bumi made dinner for the both of us because he's an incredible cook. Just kidding, Bumi can't cook, silly! I fed him his normal puppy chow and made myself ramen and rice.

With Super Buddies still on our mind, we had an interesting dinner discussion about choosing a super power if we could have one. I said the ability to have any power because that knocks out all powers at once. And Bumi said the ability to... eat anything he wanted. I don't think he realizes he eats anything he wants anyways.

After dinner we cleaned everything up and went back to watching movies on the couch. I would say National Pet Day was a success, even with the stormy weather.

It's important to love your best friend, obviously. But it's even more important to show some extra love from time to time. This is how Bumi and I spent our National Pet Day, how did you and your pet spend yours? Leave a bark in the comments letting us know!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page