top of page

Even Monsters Deserve A Good Grooming


Before and After

Shedding Season

As the great Golden Monster would say, "WOOF WOOF WOOOOOOO!" That's right, Bumi, spring is finally here. The weather is warming up and it's time to shed that winter coat. Literally.

Some of you readers might be lucky enough to have dogs with small coats, but I am not. Bumi is a golden retriever and sheds all year long, especially in a warmer climate like Las Vegas. A few things I've learned from having a dog that sheds constantly:

  • Avoid black clothing AT ALL COSTS. You don't want to walk out of the house with enough hair attached to your clothes that you look like Chewbacca.

  • Be prepared to vaccuum a couple times a week. I'm lucky enough to have wooden floors, but for those that aren't, Petco's Furminator vacuum attachment works well with furniture and carpet.

  • Keep a lint roller near the front door, in the garage, or in your car. It's the best tool to keep you from looking like Chewbacca.

But the absolute best way I've learned to combat the never ending war on dog hair? Get a hair cut! No, not your hair. Your dog's hair, silly! It won't solve the problem completely, but it will definitely make life much easier AND your pup will love it. I recommend take taking your dog to a local groomer and having him or her get all cleaned up and looking snazzy for the spring season.

DOGGIE DISTRICT

I take Bumi to a wonderful place that was recommend to me by my neighbors called Doggie District. They have a few locations in Las Vegas. They offer grooming, boarding, training, and a day care. The staff at Doggie District are very kind and absolute dog lovers. Right, Bumi? "WOOF WOOOO!!" What's that? They treat you like royalty and you love it there? Don't go getting any ideas to play in mud just so you can go back.

If you don't live in the Las Vegas area, but want to find a great groomer, I recommend reading this article from the Humane Society. It offers a lot good advice on how to find the groomer that is right for you and your friendly companion. Once you do find a groomer you like, it provides some helpful advice in the grooming process!

BUMI'S EXPERIENCE

First thing Friday morning, I brought Bumi to Doggie District. I purchased the day care and grooming package ($55) for Bumi this time because I wasn't able to pick him up until the evening. This also gave him plenty of time to play with other dogs (and hopefully wear him out).

As it turns out, my neighbors had the same idea to get their dog's hair cut too. Their dog, Comet, and Bumi are friends, but Comet tires out fast and gets annoyed by Bumi's constant energy. When Bumi entered the play area I can imagine Comet's thoughts being something like this, "Oh no! Not that kid from across the street. Not here too. Today was supposed to be a nice relaxing day away from that kid. I was ready to play with dogs who don't smell my butt for three hours straight." Poor Comet. I picked up Bumi after Comet had already left, but I hear Comet was exhausted from a full day of play with Bumi and the other pups.

Before and After

They really cleaned up his around his legs and chest. It even looks like he lost a couple of pounds. The monster smelt great, felt like a teddy bear, and best of all, he was pooped from a full day of play!

Do you have a dog that doesn't shed? Brag about it in the comments! Do you have a dog that sheds tons? Complain with me in the comments! Want more information about my previous experiences with Doggie District? Let me know in the comments!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page